All Saints CE Primary School

All Saints C.E. Primary School

Select Language

School Governors

Welcome to the Governors area of the All Saints CE Primary School website. My name is Father Michael Bailey and I am the Chair of Governors. All Saints School Governors play a very important role within our school. They work closely with the Headteacher and staff to ensure the best possible education for our children. Our Governors come from a variety of backgrounds and offer a range of experience. They often visit the school to work with the children and to see what is happening.

The day-to-day management of the school is the responsibility of the Head Teacher. The Governors support the Head in helping to shape the school's future direction and focus.
We keep ourselves up to date by means of school visits, and by making good use of the training courses provided by East Sussex Governor Services. We are very pleased that at our last Ofsted inspection, it was found that:

The governance of the school:

Members of the governing body are reflective and deeply committed to the school. They have recently reorganised how they work to increase their ability to drive the school’s improvement.
They readily undertake training in support of this imperative. Governors have a clear overview of pupils’ attainment and progress and how these compare to schools nationally. They also have an accurate view of the quality of teaching.

Their good knowledge of the school enables them to both hold it to account and support its work. Governors are well informed about the performance of staff and ensure that pay and promotion are linked to pupils’ progress.

Their management of the school’s finances is sound, with a close eye kept on how well resources are utilised to promote pupils’ learning and well-being. Accordingly, they check how the pupil premium funding is spent and evaluate the impact of actions on pupils’ progress. Governors ensure that all safeguarding procedures meet requirements.

The school governors are volunteers from the local community. They are not educational professionals but people who have a genuine interest in education. They do not work as individuals but as a team - the Governing Body - providing strategic leadership and accountability in the school. The governing body acts as a ‘critical friend’ to the headteacher, with duties and responsibilities which include:

  • setting the aims and objectives of the school
  • setting policies in order to achieve aims and objectives
  • setting targets for pupil achievement
  • monitoring and evaluating the progress the school is making
  • managing the school’s finances
  • making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
  • appointing staff
  • reviewing headteacher performance and pay

Governors are allocated a committee to sit on according to their individual skills. These are the Teaching and Learning Committee (TLC) and Strategic Organisation Committee (SOC) which encompasses finance and the maintenance of the school building and grounds. Our Foundationhave an area of specific responsibility, a ‘link’, to a particular area of the curriculum.

Following guidance from East Sussex Governor Services, we meet as a full governing body three times a year in terms 1, 3 and 5. Committees also meet three times a year in terms 2, 4 and 6. A Governor’s term of office is four years, and they may be re-elected at the end of that term. We also have whole school ‘Governors Visit Days’ at least twice a year where all Governors visit to take part in a lesson (e.g. Literacy or Numeracy, where the subject is set by the school) across the whole school.

Who are our governors?

Chair of Governors:

Father Michael Bailey

Vice Chair of Governors:

Dr Roger Elias

Staff Governors:
Ms Sally Forbes (Head Teacher)

Mr Craig Shelton (Deputy Head) 

Parent Governors:

Mr Dale Whittington

Mrs Helen Cosby

LA (Local Authority) Governors:

Mrs Jenny Farrer
Governors are responsible for the Christian ethos of the school. Governors individually also

Foundation Governors:

Father Michael Bailey

Mrs Jean Burke


Co-opted Governors:


Mr Nick Redman

Mrs Marcia Dart

Dr Roger Elias


Clerk to Governors:
Mr Chris Wain